Magnet additional points in the house

Discussion of suppliers of kitchens etc., Magnet, NTL, Sky etc. and reviews of each. Here be the place for them

Moderators: tomf, gqma0, blackstudio, Administrator

Post Reply
User avatar
gqma0
Has no life
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 2:22 pm

Magnet additional points in the house

Post by gqma0 » Tue Jul 11, 2006 1:34 pm

Hi all,

For those of you who have Magnet, you should know that they charge €60 for additional connection points
http://www.magnet.ie/pricing/index.shtml

You can do it yourself if you have a crimp tool and the following

Category 6 Outlets @ ~ €9
http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?cri ... T&DOY=11m7

Cat 5e Network RJ45 Connectors @ ~ €3.5
http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?cri ... D&DOY=11m7

Magnet only installs 2 connection points in the house as agreed with the builder.

Cheers.
G.

Clone-K
Regular User
Regular User
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 10:56 am

Post by Clone-K » Wed Mar 21, 2007 3:31 pm

I presume the Magnet points are downstairs in the hall or something like that.

Would it be better just to go wireless throughout the house?

User avatar
gqma0
Has no life
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 2:22 pm

Additional TV points

Post by gqma0 » Wed Mar 21, 2007 3:36 pm

If you're using a PC, Wireless is the way to go but if you're using the connection points to plug the Magnet TV / Phone, then you need the physical point.

User avatar
Rey
Addicted
Addicted
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:54 am
Location: St Samson's Churchwell Avenue

Post by Rey » Wed Mar 21, 2007 3:47 pm

Have to agree with Gaetan.... We've the wireless router connected to a point we don't use and free to use PC anywhere in house and the TV and phone direct into points one in hall and the other in the TV room.

User avatar
gqma0
Has no life
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 2:22 pm

Post by gqma0 » Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:11 am

The max speed Magnet does is 8Mb/s download.

The max speed Ethernet you can get with the magnet switch is 100Mb (Fast Ethernet)

if you get a wireless router 54G (802.11g), it's sufficient (54Mb/s). Even an old wireless router (802.11b) at 11Mbs is more than enough for broadband

Magnet charges an extortionate price for adding points when it only takes 15mn, 20mn to setup (Honestly) if they know how to do it. That would come to around €200/h for labour. Is that right ? There are only 4 wires used in the CAT5 cable.

The good thing with having your house wired is that you can use CAT5 to distribute the video through the whole house. That might give nice ideas to other.

Cheers

User avatar
gqma0
Has no life
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 2:22 pm

video distribution

Post by gqma0 » Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:48 am

Video over CAT5

There are lots of products out on the market for that.

In your case, I'd go with a composite or s-video cable (as most TV/video cards outputs in that format) using CAT5 and connect it point to point directly

Checkout this link
http://www.myhometheater.homestead.com/vgacable.html

You can use the same concept to build your own S-video cable. Also, you need to output the sound L/R on the same cable

Other solutions if the cabling situation doesn't suit would be to use a wireless video sender. They work fine and don't get much interferences from one room to another unless you switch on the microwave (that's a killer for wireless products)

Cheers

Post Reply